JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 520

In a firm, baritone voice, Raymund E. Liboro, newly appointed director of the Science and Technology Information Institute (DOST-STII) and CEO of GEOMEDIA Inc., the Countryside Associated Network, and Discovery Channel said that "a new way of thinking saved the day for PAGASA when it proved that movement of Typhoon Megi can be tracked and broadcasted on an hourly basis." The story underlined the new thrusts of DOST in his message during the 47th Anniversary celebration of DOST CALABARZON held on November 18, 2010 at Los Banos, Laguna.

In support of DOST's new thrusts on disaster prevention and mitigation, Alexander R. Madrigal, regional director of DOST CALABARZON, and Vicente F. Tomazar, regional director of the Office of Civil Defense Region IV-A and chairman of the Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council IV-A, together with Mayor Anthony F. Genuino of Los Banos, Mayor Domingo G. Panganiban of Sta. Cruz City, and the representative of Mayor Jose O. Padrid of Bay signed the memorandum of understanding launching the project "ICT- based Disaster Monitoring and Feedback System." The project, once in operation, will provide concerned agencies and local government units' micro-climatic data about presently occurring weather systems on an hourly basis.

Also launched was the project "Upgrading of Street Foods Vending in Pilot Municipalities: Tanauan City, Batangas; Calamba City, Laguna; and Los Banos, Laguna." Held in conjunction with these was the awarding of the 2010 Gawad Tambuli. Liboro together with Madrigal led the awarding of deserving members of the Regional Science and Information Task Force Region IV-A (RSITAF IVA), an association of media practitioners established by the Information Production and Dissemination Unit of DOST IV-A for the purpose of integrating news coverage on S&T. First presented in 2000 and 2005, this year the Tambuli Media Awards recognized the body of published work by journalists and publishers as partners during the 12 years of existence of two existing and functional regional S&T media groups in the region and the country.

Winners of the Individual Category, 2010 Gawad Pagkilala para sa Natatanging Mamamahayag are Dolores V. Ledesma and Rosandro "Sandy" A. Belarmino, second and first runners-up, respectively. On the other hand, the 2010 Tropeo ng Karangalan para sa Natatanging Mamamahayag were awarded to Norida D. Sumilang, third place; Quirino "Ric" G. Alban, second place; and Ruben E. Taningco, first place. Maria Esperanza E. Jawili of the Provincial S&T Center (PSTC) of Quezon also received the 2010 Gawad Pagkilala para sa Natatanging Mamamahayag.

On the other hand, winners of the Institution Category, 2010 Gawad Pagkilala para sa Natatanging Pahayagan are The Laguna Bulletin, and The Network News, second and first runners-up, respectively while the 2010 Tropeo ng Karangalan para sa Natatanging Pahayagan were awarded to The Laguna Score, third place; Makiling Journal, second place; and Southern Herald, first place.

Other highlight of the celebration was the awarding of plaques of recognition to outstanding DOST IV-A employees. Winners of the 2009 PRAISE included, from Cavite, Agnes G. Morales, Outstanding Field Staff, and Raul D. Castaneda, Outstanding Provincial S&T Director. Fernando E. Ablaza of PSTC-Rizal received the Outstanding Technology Extension Specialist of DOST IV-A award while two from the Regional Office, namely, Jenet B. Bustos and Emelita P. Bagsit were cited as Outstanding Administrative Staff and Outstanding Technical Staff, respectively.

Earlier, a seminar-training on meal management and food handling for small-scale canteen/restaurant operators was held. More than seventy representatives of various regional government agencies and the private sector, as well as, media practitioners joined the celebration.